USA
Law
Welcome Guest | Login
SEARCH
Advanced
Nobu (TRA): Matsuhisa, Nobu/ Hirano, Cathy (TRN): BOOKS KINOKUNIYA
Book Details
Nobu (TRA)
Nobu (TRA)
Publisher : Atria Books
Published Date : 2017/11
Binding : Hardcover
ISBN : 9781501122798

BookWeb Price : US$25.00
Kinokuniya Member price : US$22.50

Availability Status : In stock at the Fulfillment Center.
Usually ships within 1-3 working days.
Language : English
Stock Information
Store Shelf Location Stock
New York Main Store
San Francisco Store
Seattle Store
Los Angeles Store
San Jose Store
Portland Store
Chicago Store
New Jersey Store
Texas Carrollton Store
Texas Plano Store
Important
  • While every attempt has been made to ensure stock availability, occasionally we do run out of stock at our stores.
  • Retail store and online prices may vary.
  • To confirm availability and pricing, please call the store directly.
Retail Store Contact Details and Operating Hours

Book Description
Source: ENG
Academic Descriptors: A23306400 A97406060
Place of Publication: United States
Academic Level: Extracurricular
Review:
Booklist Reviews 2017 November #1
Baker & Taylor Forecast - October 2017
Kirkus Reviews 2017 September #2
LJ Reviews 2017 November #1
LJ Positive Reviews

"In this outstanding memoir, chef and restaurateur Matsuhisa...shares lessons in humility, gratitude, and empathy that will stick with readers long after they've finished the final chapter." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) A fascinating and unique memoir by the acclaimed celebrity chef and international restaurateur, Nobu, as he divulges both his dramatic life story and reflects on the philosophy and passion that has made him one of the world's most widely respected Japanese fusion culinary artists.Nobu needs no introduction. One of the world's most widely acclaimed restaurateurs, his influence on food and hospitality can be found at the highest levels of haute-cuisine to the food trucks you frequent during the work week-this is the Nobu that the public knows. But now, we are finally introduced to the private Nobu: the man who failed three times before starting the restaurant that would grow into an empire; the man who credits the love and support of his wife and children as the only thing keeping him from committing suicide when his first restaurant burned down; and the man who values the busboy who makes sure each glass is crystal clear as highly as the chef who slices the fish for Omakase perfectly. What makes Nobu special, and what made him famous, is the spirit of what exists on these pages. He has the traditional Japanese perspective that there is great pride to be found in every element of doing a job well-no matter how humble that job is. Furthermore, he shows us repeatedly that success is as much about perseverance in the face of adversity as it is about innate talent. Not just for serious foodies, this inspiring memoir is perfect for fans of Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up and Danny Meyer's Setting the Table. Nobu's writing does what he does best-it marries the philosophies of East and West to create something entirely new and remarkable.